Pedro Miguel Echenique, Honorary Doctorate of Technology from Aalto University, Finland

15 February, 2016
Pedro Miguel Etxenike.

This year, Aalto University has distinguished Pedro Miguel Echenique, Professor of the University of the Basque Country/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea (UPV/EHU) and President of the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC), with an Honorary Doctorate of Technology, together with 10 other eminent persons in the fields of science, technology and society. This distinction, which is conferred every two years by the Schools of Technology of Aalto University in Finland, and has a tradition of more than 80 years, is awarded to prominent scientists and technologists with outstanding careers.

The scientific and cultural work of Professor Echenique was highlighted in his nomination, as well as the contribution he has made over the past three decades to boost cooperation between Aalto University and the University of the Basque Country, mainly concerning exchanges between both institutions in the field of scientific and technological research. Pedro Miguel Echenique has acknowledged that he feels very honoured and proud of this distinction, because it involves recognition not only of his career, but especially of the scientific values and the great work performed by the UPV/EHU. In the same way, it recognizes the enormous technological potential of cutting-edge basic research.

In the opinion of Iñaki Goirizelaia, Chancellor of the UPV/EHU, “the award of an honorary doctorate to a member of our academic community is always a great delight, but special conditions are met in this case. There is close collaboration between Aalto University and the UPV/EHU and it is a good example of the internationalisation process that our UPV/EHU advocates; it is also important that this distinction is awarded in a field like technology and also goes to a figure like Pedro Miguel Echenique, one of our most renowned researchers internationally and linked to the University of the Basque Country throughout his entire academic career”.

Aalto University is considered one of the five “Rising Stars”, according to a study published recently by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) about the world’s leading 200 universities. Among other factors, the Finnish university stands out because it fosters the culture of entrepreneurship.

Aalto University, as such, was established in 2010 after the merger of the Helsinki University of Technology, the Helsinki School of Economics and the University of Art and Design Helsinki. It is precisely the oldest of these three, the Helsinki University of Technology, dating back to 1849, which has awarded the Honorary Doctorate to the Professor of the UPV/EHU, who is also President of the DIPC and of CIC nanoGUNE. The ceremonial conferment of doctorates at Aalto University, both to those who have just earned their degrees and those distinguished with honorary ones, will be held on 7 October next in Helsinki.

Releated Post

This may also interest you

View all arrow