Basque enterprise blog Receive daily information of interest to your company

15 November, 2016
DIPC, CFM and nanoGUNE researchers are the co-authors of one of the twelve most important papers in the history of the Journal of Physics


To mark the 50th anniversary of the Journal of Physics series, which encompasses various important journals in the field of physics, its editors have drawn up a list of the twelve most important papers published on its pages. Daniel Sánchez-Portal, researcher at the Centre for Materials Physics (CSIC-UPV/EHU), and Emilio Artacho, Cambridge University professor and Ikerbasque researcher at CICnanoGUNE, both members of the Donostia International Physics Center (DIPC), are co-authors of one of the twelve papers selected.


The paper presented a new atomic simulation method and code known by its acronym SIESTA. This successful code, open and free for the research community, implemented a new, very efficient calculation method that allows the properties of materials to be predicted, thus resolving quantum mechanics equations without needing to resort to large, very costly computing facilities. Nowadays, thousands of users across the world use SIESTA in their daily research work, and the original article published in the Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter in 2002 (DOI: 10.1088/0953-8984/14/11/302) and signed by another five authors in addition to Sanchez Portal and Artacho, has received over 7,000 citations, according to Google Scholar, the search engine specialising in scientific literature. Compelling reasons that have prompted the editors of the Journal of Physics to include it in their select list.


In the words of the co-authors Sánchez-Portal and Artacho, “we are in excellent company indeed in the list of selected papers”. In fact, among the other 11 papers are some signed by Nobel Laureates, such as J. Michael Kosterlitz and David J. Thouless (Nobel Prize in Physics 2016); Phil Anderson (Nobel Prize in Physics 1977), or seminal works by world-famous researchers, such as Sir John Pendry (Dirac Award 1996), E. Rashba (discoverer of the Rashba spin effect) and S. Doniach (one of the fathers of the synchrotron x-ray sources of radiation).

Basque Industry 2 March, 2021
Registration period to participate as a trailblazing company in the open innovation programme BIND 4.0 is now open

  The smart industry open innovation platform, BIND 4.0, opens its 6th call for the...Leer más

Basque Industry 12 November, 2020
Meet the 72 Industry 4.0 Startups most valued by the BIND 4.0 Partner Companies and the Finalists for the 5th Edition of the Program

Next January the Participants will be announced and the acceleration program will begin. 20 of...Leer más

Basque Industry 29 April, 2020
Materials 4.0: Three state-of-the-art surface modification techniques for your industrial components

At the moment, Basque business is living through times of change and experiencing an unusual and...Leer más

Basque Industry 15 April, 2020
Materials 4.0: producing better performing, more durable and more sustainable products in the Basque Country!

The SPRI Group, together with the BDIH, makes the Advanced Materials Node available to Basque SMEs....Leer más

Basque Industry 7 April, 2020
The Closing Word on… Robotics

Damien Sallé, Cross-departmental Coordinator of Robotic Technology at Tecnalia and Head of Market...Leer más


Daily information segmented according to business
sectors and countries of interest to make the most competitive

Latest news about New Subsidies

For SMEs, for diversifying markets, internships abroad, international tenders, non-reimbursable subsidies to consolidate exports, subsidies for deployments or specific training in internationalisation.

You’re interested, right?